WPL: Mumbai Indians announced captain, Harmanpreet Kaur got big responsibility, know full squad

WPL Mumbai Indians Harmanpreet Kaur

New Delhi: Team India captain Harmanpreet Kaur has got another big responsibility. She will lead Mumbai Indians in the inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL), starting March 4 in Mumbai. Though Harmanpreet was not the costliest player bought by Mumbai in last month’s auction, she was expected to lead the team. The team includes other top players like Nate Sciver-Brunt, Hayley Matthews and Amelia Kerr.

Harmanpreet Kaur will inspire women

As the national captain, she has led the Indian women’s team to some of the most exciting victories, Mumbai Indians owner Nita Ambani said in a statement. I am sure she, along with head coach Charlotte and bowling coach and mentor Jhulan Goswami, will inspire our MI women’s team to play their best cricket, display a sense of pride and bring more glory to women in sports.

And read14 wickets fell on the very first day in Indore, amazing memes being made on the pitch, watch video

Bought for Rs 1.8 crore

Mumbai bought Harmanpreet for Rs 1.8 crore. Whereas MI made it their own by buying Nat Cyver Brunt for 3.2 crores and Pooja Vastrakar for 1.90 crores. Harmanpreet is the third most expensive player. Harmanpreet has led India to the knockouts in the last three T20 World Cups, including the final of the 2020 edition in Australia. In the recent T20 World Cup that concluded in South Africa last month, Harmanpreet scored a brilliant 52 off 34 balls in the semi-final against Australia.

And read Shreyas Iyer got out strangely, hard to believe, watch video

The only player in the world to play 150 T20Is

Harmanpreet is the only player in the world to have played 150 T20Is. Harmanpreet Edwards will be in team management along with Goswami and batting coach Devika Palshikar. The team also includes Pooja Vastrakar, Yastika Bhatia and Amanjot Kaur as other international Indian players. Mumbai will take on Gujarat Giants in the WPL opener on March 4 at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

WPL Mumbai Indians Team

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Nat Sciver, Pooja Vastrakar, Yastika Bhatia, Amelia Kerr, Amanjot Kaur, Hayley Mathews, Chloe Tryon, Heather Graham, Isabel Wong, Priyanka Bala, Dhara Gurjar, Humaira Kazi, Jintimani Kalita, Neelam Bisht, Sayka Ishaq Sonam Yadav

And read Read more big sports news here

Leave a Reply