Parliamentary team of Congress and CPI(M) attacked in Tripura, the team had come to investigate post-poll violence

Parliamentary Team Attacked 1

Parliamentary Team Attacked: The parliamentary team of Congress and CPI-M, which went to probe the post-poll violence in BJP-ruled Tripura, was attacked. The team had reached here on Friday to talk to the people affected by the violence apart from the investigation. The Congress-CPI(M) parliamentary team is on a two-day visit to Tripura.

CPI(M) Tripura state secretary and former minister Jitendra Chowdhary said the parliamentary party was forced to postpone its other programs scheduled for today due to the attack at Nehalchandra Nagar market in Bisalgarh on Friday evening.

Three vehicles were damaged in the attack

Congress and CPI(M) sources said when members of the parliamentary party went to violence-hit Vishalgarh in Sipahijala district, some people backed by the ruling BJP attacked them and damaged three vehicles. In a statement, the CPI(M) said, “The MP and the Congress and CPI(M) leaders accompanying him immediately left the spot and escaped major attack.”

Meanwhile, a police statement said the MPs along with local MLAs and leaders faced sloganeering during an unscheduled visit to Nehal Chandra Nagar in Vishalgarh. The accompanying police escort team reacted quickly and escorted the delegation safely. Senior officers were on the spot. There is no report of injury to any person. Damage has been reported to 2-3 vehicles. A suspect has been taken into custody. Raids are on.

Jairam Ramesh said – BJP goons attacked

Congress leader Jairam Ramesh condemned the incident. Ramesh tweeted, “A delegation of Congress leaders was attacked by BJP goons at Vishalgarh and Mohanpur in Tripura today. The police accompanying the delegation did nothing.

Congress and CPI(M) leaders said the parliamentary party, comprising four Lok Sabha MPs and three Rajya Sabha MPs, has been divided into three groups, which will visit violence-affected villages and urban areas in three districts – West Tripura, Sipahijala and Gomti. have been Local MLAs from the parties including PR Natarajan, Ranjitha Ranjan, AA Rahim, Abdul Khaliq, Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharya, Vinay Vishwam and Elaram Karim accompanied the parliamentary teams.

Leave a Reply