Another blow to former Pakistan PM Imran Khan, Fawad Chaudhary resigns from Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf

fawad chaudhry

Pakistan Politics: Former Prime Minister of Pakistan Imran Khan has suffered another setback. Fawad Chaudhary, his ally in his government, has resigned from Imran Khan’s party Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf. Fawad Chaudhary said on Twitter, “I have decided to take a break from politics, hence I have resigned from the post of the party and am separating from Imran.”

Fawad has joined the long list of PTI leaders who have announced to quit PTI following the nationwide sabotage and violent protests on May 9. So far many others including Dr. Shireen Mazari, Faiyazul Hasan Chauhan, Malik Amin Aslam, Mehmood Maulvi, Aamir Kayani, Jai Prakash, Aftab Siddiqui and Sanjay Gangwani have left Imran Khan’s party.

Fawad Chaudhary was arrested in May

Fawad Chaudhary was arrested in May along with other party leaders on charges of arson and inciting violent protests in a premeditated plan to endanger the peace. Protests broke out outside the Islamabad High Court after the arrest of Imran Khan by Pakistani Rangers. He was later released by the Islamabad High Court.

There was violence on the arrest of Imran Khan

On 9 May, PTI chief Imran Khan was arrested by the paramilitary Pakistan Rangers at the Islamabad High Court complex, leading to unrest in Pakistan. For the first time in Pakistan’s history, protesters stormed the Army Headquarters (GHQ) in Rawalpindi and set ablaze a corps commander’s house in Lahore.

Imran Khan was arrested by the paramilitary Pakistan Rangers in a corruption case while he was in the Islamabad High Court. Imran Khan, facing over 100 cases, was later released and got protective bail against arrest in all the cases.

Asad Umar left the post of PTI General Secretary

Former Finance Minister and Central General Secretary of PTI Asad Umar quit his post after 15 days of imprisonment after Fawad Chaudhary quit the party.

Earlier, Shireen Mazari, an aide to former Pakistan prime minister, on Tuesday announced her decision to leave Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf following the May 9 attack on the country’s military installations and government buildings.

Leave a Reply