NZ vs SL: Team Southee beat Australian veteran, Dale Steyn and Ravichandran Ashwin join this special club

New Project188

NZ vs SL 1st Test: The first match of the two-match Test series being played between New Zealand and Sri Lanka is being played in Christchurch. In this match, New Zealand team captain Team Southee bowled brilliantly in the first innings and spoiled the condition of Sri Lankan batsmen by taking 5 wickets. Due to this strong performance, he has added his name to a special club which includes many players including Ashwin, Steyn.

Team Saudi joined this special club

New Zealand captain Tim Southee is running in excellent form these days and is leading his team to victory with excellent bowling. In this episode, he took 5 wickets against Sri Lanka. This was the 15th five-wicket haul of his career, due to which he has joined the club of bowlers who have taken 5 wickets in an innings 15 times in Test cricket.

With this, Team Southee has also overtaken Australian legend TM Alderman, who had 14 five-wicket hauls in Tests. At the same time, Sri Lanka’s Muttiah Muralitharan is the bowler who has taken the most number of five wickets in Tests, who has done this feat 67 times. Australian veteran Shane Warne is second in this list, who has done this 37 times.

Most number of 5 wicket takers in Tests

1. Muttiah Muralitharan – 67 times

2. Shane Warne – 37 times

3. Sir RJ Headley – 36 times

4. Anil Kumble – 35 times

5. Herath – 34 times

New Zealand Playing 11: Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Blundell (wk), Michael Bracewell, Tim Southee (c), Matt Henry, Neil Wagner, Blair Tickner

Sri Lanka Playing 11: Oshada Fernando, Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Kasun Rajitha, Prabhat Jayasuriya, Asita Fernando, Lahiru Kumara

Leave a Reply