Sunday, April 2, 2023
HomeEnglish NewsNZ vs ENG: New Zealand created history by winning the match by...

NZ vs ENG: New Zealand created history by winning the match by 1 run, became the first team to do so

NZ vs ENG 2nd Test: The second Test match being played between New Zealand and England in Wellington has now come to an end. New Zealand has won this match in an exciting way by just 1 run. There was a time in the match that England would easily win but Team Southee’s team did not give up and won the match even after the follow on.

New Zealand team returns after follow on

Talking about the match, batting first in this, the England team scored a huge score of 435 runs. After which the New Zealand team, which came out to bat, started losing wickets quickly and got all out for just 209 runs, after which England gave the follow-on to the Kiwi team and thought of ending the match soon but Kane Williamson on his intentions. England turned the water and played an innings of 132 runs in front of the England team, setting a target of 256 runs for victory in the fourth innings. Chasing which the England team lost by just one run.

New Zealand team made these big records

By winning this match, the New Zealand team made two big records. New Zealand has become the second team in the history of Test cricket to win the match by one run. Earlier, West Indies won against Australia in 1993 in a hard-fought match. At the same time, New Zealand has become the fourth team to win the match after the follow-on. With this, the team has also become the team to win with the smallest margin after the follow-on.

Teams winning the match after follow-on

1. England – VS Australia – 1984

2. England – VS Australia – 1981

3. India – VS Australia – 2001

4. New Zealand VS England – 2023

New Zealand Playing 11: Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson, Will Young, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Blundell (wk), Michael Bracewell, Tim Southee (c), Matt Henry, Neil Wagner

England Playing 11: Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Ben Stokes (c), Ben Foakes (wk), Ollie Robinson, Stuart Broad, Jack Leach, James Anderson


Most Popular

Recent Comments