Tuesday, March 21, 2023
HomeEnglish NewsNorth Eastern States Election: Congress Chief's appeal to the voters of Meghalaya...

North Eastern States Election: Congress Chief’s appeal to the voters of Meghalaya and Nagaland, said – give a chance for change

North Eastern States Election: With polling underway in the northeastern states of Meghalaya and Nagaland, Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge on Monday appealed to voters in the two states to give them a “chance for change”. Kharge said that the people of both the northeastern states are looking forward to progressive and welfare governments.

In a tweet, Kharge said, “Welcome our first-time voters to participate in this democratic process for a better future. Urge our sisters and brothers of Meghalaya and Nagaland to give us a chance for change.”

Voting continues on 59 seats in Nagaland

Voting began at 7 am on Monday in 59 seats to elect a new government in the single-phase assembly elections in Nagaland. With the polling ending at 4 pm on Monday, the electoral fate of 183 candidates across parties will be sealed.

Crowds of people were seen at the polling stations on Monday morning to cast their votes. The state had registered a voter turnout of around 75 per cent in the 2018 assembly elections and 90.57 per cent in 2013. The BJP is contesting the elections in alliance with the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP). In 2018 too, both the parties had formed an alliance.

The Congress has also indicated a post-poll alliance if needed. There are a total of 13,17,632 voters in Nagaland, of which 6,61,489 are male and 6,56,143 are female. A total of 2,351 polling stations have been put together in the state. According to the Election Commission, 305 companies of central paramilitary forces have been deployed at polling stations in both the states to ensure smooth conduct of the polling process.

369 candidates in the fray in Meghalaya

Voting is underway in 59 of Meghalaya’s 60 assembly seats today. Voting in the Sohyeong assembly seat has been postponed following the death of UDP candidate HDR Lyngdoh. The National People’s Party (NPP) led by Conrad Sangma is expected to retain power, while the BJP and the Trinamool Congress will attempt to oust the current government. A total of 369 candidates are in the fray in the state, of which 36 are women. Voting will be done till 4 pm.

In the 2018 assembly elections, the ruling NPP won 19 seats, the Congress 21 and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) managed to win two seats. The United Democratic Party (UDP) captured 6 seats. The Congress emerged as the single largest party, but the government was formed by the NPP-led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) with the support of the UDP, BJP and other regional parties.


Most Popular

Recent Comments

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.