Nagaland Election Results: For the first time in the history of 60 years, two women will go to the assembly, Hekani and Salhutunu Kruse won

Nagaland MLA

Nagaland Election Results: History was created on Thursday after 60 years in Nagaland assembly elections. Nagaland got statehood in 1963. But no woman candidate could win the assembly elections. For the first time in the 2023 assembly elections, two women Hekani Jakhlu and Salhutunu Kruse have won. Both are from NDPP and BJP alliance.

The victory of Hekani and Kruse is also important and historic because only two women have reached the Parliament in 75 years of independence. But the assembly remained untouched by the leadership of half the population. But now the 60-member Nagaland Assembly will also have two women members. Hekani Jakhlu from Dimapur-III and Salhutunu Kruse from West Angami constituency in Nagaland.

Know who is Hekanu Jakhlu?

Hekani Jakhlu of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party won by a margin of 1,536 votes. She was one of the four women candidates contesting the Nagaland Assembly elections this year. Jakhlu, 48, a lawyer-activist and founder of Youthnet, defeated Lok Janshakti Party’s Egeto Zhimomi.

The official Twitter handle of Youthnet said, “HISTORY HAS BEEN MADE! Our heartiest congratulations to our founder, Hekani, who has become the first woman from Nagaland to be elected to the State Legislative Assembly.’

Salhutunu Kruse works with NGO

Salhutunu Kruse has been working in NGO for a long time. He won from 8 West Angami seats. He contested against Kenizhakho Nakhro. She has been an active member of civil society organizations. Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio campaigned for Kruse.

Were these women candidates in the election?

  • Rosie Thomson of Congress (Tenning seat)
  • Hekani Jakhlu (Dimapur-III seat) from NDPP
  • Saluhutunu Kruse from NDPP (West Angami seat)
  • Kahuli Sema (Atoiju seat) from BJP

Two women had reached the Lok Sabha

In 75 years of the country’s independence, only two women from Nagaland have reached the Parliament. Rano M Shaja was elected to the Lok Sabha in 1977. After this, S Phangnon was the second woman from Konyak state who reached the Lok Sabha.

read this also North East Election Results: Tripura, return of BJP alliance in Nagaland, hung assembly in Meghalaya

Leave a Reply