Saturday, March 25, 2023
HomeEnglish NewsNagaland Election 2023 LIVE Updates: Voting continues on 59 seats in Nagaland,...

Nagaland Election 2023 LIVE Updates: Voting continues on 59 seats in Nagaland, voters line up at polling booth

Nagaland Election 2023 LIVE Updates: Voting began at 7 am today for 59 of the total 60 seats in the Nagaland Legislative Assembly. Votes will be cast here till 4 pm. BJP candidate Kazeto Kinimi has won unopposed from Akuluto, one of the 60 seats, after which voting is being held on 59 seats. The counting of votes will take place on March 2.

Voters have started voting to decide the electoral fate of 183 candidates (including four women candidates) contesting the elections in the state. There are a total of 13,17,632 voters in the state, including 6,47,523 male and 6,49,876 female voters. 2291 polling stations have been set up for voting. The ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and the BJP are contesting the elections on a 40:20 seat-sharing basis. Congress has fielded 23 candidates. For all the updates related to Nagaland Assembly Election 2023 Stay on

Nagaland Election 2023 LIVE Updates…

  • A large number of voters have come to cast their votes in Nagaland’s Shamtoor district in the assembly elections.

Since the formation of the state in 1963, 14 assembly elections have been held in Nagaland. All eyes are on the four women candidates out of a total of 183. If either of them wins the election, she will create history by becoming the first woman to be elected as an MLA in a northeastern state.

The four women candidates are NDPP’s Hekhni Jakhlu from Dimapur-III seat, Congress’s Rosie Thompson from Tening seat, NDPP’s Salhoutuonuo from West Angami seat and BJP’s Kahuli Sema from Atoiju seat.


Most Popular

Recent Comments