Saturday, March 25, 2023
HomeEnglish NewsMeghalaya Election 2023 LIVE Updates: Voting begins for 59 seats; The...

Meghalaya Election 2023 LIVE Updates: Voting begins for 59 seats; The fate of 369 candidates will be sealed in EVM

Meghalaya Election 2023 LIVE Updates: Voting will be held on 59 out of 60 assembly seats in Meghalaya today. Voting in the Sohyeong assembly seat has been postponed following the death of UDP candidate HDR Lyngdoh. The National People’s Party (NPP) led by Conrad Sangma is expected to retain power, while the BJP and the Trinamool Congress will attempt to oust the current government. A total of 369 candidates are in the fray in the state, of which 36 are women. Voting will be done till 4 pm.

In the 2018 assembly elections, the ruling NPP won 19 seats, the Congress 21 and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) managed to win two seats. The United Democratic Party (UDP) captured 6 seats. The Congress emerged as the single largest party, but the government was formed by the NPP-led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) with the support of the UDP, BJP and other regional parties. For all the updates related to Meghalaya Assembly Election 2023 Stay on

Meghalaya Election 2023 LIVE Updates…

81 thousand first voters will also vote

In Meghalaya, 21 lakh (21,75,236) voters, including 10.99 lakh women and 10.68 lakh men, will decide the fate of 369 candidates. There are approximately 81,000 first-time voters in the state. Polling will be held at 3,419 polling stations in 59 assembly constituencies in the state.

Of the 60 assembly constituencies in Meghalaya, 36 fall in the Khasi, Jaintia Hills region while 24 are in the Garo Hills region. The current term of the 60-seat Meghalaya Legislative Assembly will end on March 15. The majority mark to form the government in the state is 31.

No alliance between BJP and NPP

This time, the BJP and the NPP have not forged an alliance. BJP and Congress have fielded candidates on all the seats. Chief Minister Conrad Sangma is contesting from the South Tura constituency, while the BJP has fielded Bernard N Marak against the NPP chief.

The Election Commission has deployed 119 companies of the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) in Meghalaya. Chief Electoral Officer, Meghalaya FR Kharkongor said that 640 polling stations have been identified as ‘unsafe’, 323 as ‘sensitive’ and 84 as both.


Most Popular

Recent Comments