LSG vs GT: Mark Wood returned to IPL after 5 years, reminded 11 years old match by taking 5 wickets

IPL 2023 LSG vs DC Mark Wood

New Delhi: Mark Wood…the sensational bowler of England who made such a comeback after 5 years that the world was stunned. While playing for Lucknow Super Giants on Saturday, Mark Wood tore apart the Delhi Capitals batsmen. He wreaked so much havoc with his pace and stormy balls that whatever batsman came in front of him could not last long.

Merchant of pace, Mark Wood took 5 wickets in 4 overs for just 14 runs. This was the first 5 wicket haul of this season of IPL. Wood bowled Prithvi Shaw and Mitchell Marsh in the 5th over, while Sarfaraz Khan was dismissed in the seventh over. In the 20th over, he created a sensation by picking up the wickets of Akshar Patel and Chetan Sakariya. In front of Wood’s deadly bowling, the Capitals succumbed to 143 runs in response to 193 runs. Thus LSG won the match by a huge margin of 50 runs.

remembered 11 years old match

In fact, Mark Wood has become the second England bowler to have taken 5 wickets in IPL. About 11 years ago, English bowler Dimitri Mascarenhas did this feat. He became the first England bowler to take a 5-wicket haul in the IPL. Dimitri took 5/25 for PBKS against Pune Warriors in Mohali in 2012. Although Dimitri gave away more runs than Wood.

Became the 8th bowler to bowl best in an innings

With this, Wood became the 8th bowler in the world to bowl the best in an inning in IPL history. In this, the name of Alzarri Joseph is recorded at the top, who took 6 wickets for just 12 runs in 3.4 overs. The special thing is that Mark Wood had not yet taken 5 wickets in T20 International or T20. This was his first 5 wicket haul. Mark Wood had earlier played only one season for CSK. In which he gave 49 runs in one match. He could not get any wicket in this.

best bowling for lsg

  • 5/14 – Mark Wood vs DC, Lucknow, 2023
  • 4/16 – Mohsin Khan vs DC, Wankhede, 2022
  • 4/24 – Avesh Khan vs SRH, DY Patil, 2022

Best bowling against DC

  • 5/13 – Lasith Malinga (MI), Delhi, 2011
  • 5/14 – Mark Wood (LSG), Lucknow, 2023
  • 5/20 – Varun Chakravarthy (DC), Abu Dhabi, 2020
  • 5/25 – Jaydev Unadkat (RCB), Delhi, 2013

Leave a Reply