Karnataka Assembly Election 2023: Voting on 224 seats in Karnataka today, the fate of 2615 candidates will be decided

Karnataka Election 5

Karnataka Assembly Election 2023: Votes will be cast for 224 seats in Karnataka from 7 am on Wednesday. The voting process will continue till 5 pm. Result will come on 13th May. 2615 candidates are trying their luck in the election field. There is a tough fight between the ruling BJP, Congress and JDS. BJP is desperate to break the tradition of 38 years and return to power, while Congress wants to get power by ousting BJP.

Why is the Karnataka election important?

Karnataka is a big state among the states of South India. It is also called the gateway of South India. There is a BJP government here. In such a situation, BJP wants to strengthen its roots in other states by winning Karnataka again. At the same time, after Karnataka, elections are also to be held in Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, Chhattisgarh this year. Then there is the Lok Sabha election of 2024. In such a situation, the victory of Karnataka will definitely affect the upcoming elections.

facts related to karnataka election

Total Candidates- 2615
Congress- 221
BJP- 224
JDS- 208
Aam Aadmi Party- 208
BSP- 127
SP- 14
NCP- 09
Independent 901
Other political parties- 669

know how many voters

Total Voters- 5,30,85,566
Male- 2,66,82,156
Woman- 2,63,98,483
Other- 4,927

– Advertisement –

More than 58 thousand polling stations have been set up

There are a total of 58,282 polling stations for elections in the state, of which 28,866 fall in urban areas. The average number of voters per polling station is 883. The Election Commission said that security arrangements have been made in three layers at sensitive booths.

Reputation of leaders at stake in these VIP seats

The prestige of many leaders is at stake in the Karnataka elections. Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai is contesting from Shiggaon. Congress veteran and former CM Siddaramaiah is in the fray from Varuna seat. Contesting from Kanakapura against Congress President DK Shivakumar. BJP has fielded R Ashok against him. JDS chief and former CM HD Kumaraswamy is contesting from Channapatna. BJP has fielded BY Vijayendra, son of former CM BS Yeddyurappa, from Shikaripura. The Ramnagar seat is also very special. Nikhil Kumaraswamy, grandson of former CM HD Deve Gowda, is contesting here.

Read also: Imran Khan Arrest: Uproar in PAK after Imran Khan’s arrest, dummy aircraft-radio station set on fire

Leave a Reply