Congress will contest elections on its own in Karnataka, Rahul’s visit on April 5, Surjewala said – ‘Will uproot the commission government’

Randeep Surjewala 1

Karnataka Assembly Election 2023: Assembly elections in Karnataka have been announced on Wednesday. Votes will be cast on May 10 and results will come on May 13. The Congress has announced to contest the elections in Karnataka on its own.

Karnataka in-charge and Congress General Secretary Randeep Surjewala said that the party is ready for the elections in Karnataka. We have resolved to throw out the anti-people government with 40 per cent commission. Congress will form the government in Karnataka with the blessings of the common people.

Randeep Surjewala said that Congress will usher in a new era of peace, progress and prosperity in Karnataka. Brand Karnataka will be rebuilt and there is also a resolve to restore Kannadiga pride.

The state president said – we do not need any alliance

At the same time, Karnataka Congress President DK Shivakumar said that May 10 will not be just a voting day but it will be a day to end corruption. The corrupt government with 40% commission will be finished off by the people of Karnataka on 10th May.

Congress state president said that we do not need any alliance. Congress party will win on its own. I expect a two-thirds majority. Rahul is coming here on April 5. He is not afraid of disqualification, jail or anything. The country cannot be united without the Congress party.

In 2018, Congress-JDS formed the government together

Let us inform that no party got majority in the 2018 assembly elections. BJP’s 104 candidates won, while Congress got 78 and JDS got 37 seats. BJP leader Yeddyurappa was sworn in as the chief minister. But could not get the confidence vote in the house.

After this Congress and JDS together formed the coalition government. JDS leader HD Kumaraswamy became the CM. But after 64 days many MLAs of Congress and JDS rebelled. On 26 July 2019, BS Yeddyurappa again became the CM. He resigned after two years. Basavaraj Bommai became the CM in his place.

On Wednesday, JDS leader HD Kumaraswamy said that the people of Kannada have decided to elect a regional party. This time they will reject both the national parties.

model code of conduct implemented

Please inform that there are 224 assembly seats in Karnataka. The term of the assembly ends on May 24. Voting will be held here on May 10 and the results will be declared on May 13. Chief Election Commissioner Rajeev Kumar said that the total electorate in Karnataka is 5.2 crore.

He informed that the total number of voters above the age of 80 years is 12.15 lakh. More than 9.17 lakh will vote for the first time. Model code of conduct has come into force in Karnataka.

Read also: Karnataka Elections 2023 Dates: Election bugle played in Karnataka; Voting on 10 May, result on 13

Leave a Reply