IND vs WI: Team India’s star bowler just 3 steps away from breaking Dale Steyn’s record, will complete 700 wickets

collage 98

IND vs WI: The first Test is to be played between India and West Indies from 12 July. This match is to be played in Roseau, Dominica. If Team India wants to start this series with a win, then the performance of star spinner Ravichandran Ashwin becomes important and necessary. If everything goes well and Ashwin spins, then the hosts could be in trouble.

In this match, star spinner Ashwin can leave South African fast bowler Dale Steyn behind in terms of taking the most international wickets.

Ashwin can break Dale Steyn’s record

Ravichandran Ashwin is the veteran off-spinner of Team India. If he takes 3 wickets in the first test against West Indies, he will complete 700 wickets in international cricket. He will also become the 16th bowler to take 700 wickets in international cricket. Also, in this case, South African veteran bowler Dale Steyn will be left behind. Dale Steyn has taken 699 wickets in 265 matches of his international cricket career.

Record of these 2 veterans will be on the target of Ashwin

Ashwin’s target against the West Indies will also be the record of former New Zealand spinner Daniel Vettori and Team India’s star spinner Harbhajan Singh. Viroti has taken 705 dismissals in 442 matches while Harbhajan Singh has taken 711 dismissals in 367 matches. Ashwin needs 9 wickets to go past Virot while Harbhajan needs 15 wickets.

– Advertisement –

Ashwin’s cricket career

R Ashwin currently has 697 wickets in 270 matches. He has taken 474 wickets in 92 Tests, 151 in 113 ODIs and 72 wickets in 62 T20s. He is playing for Team India as a senior bowler. Ashwin also bats with the ball. On many occasions, this player has played an important role in helping Team India win.

Team India for the Test series is as follows

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-Captain), KS Bharat (Wicketkeeper), Ishaan Kishan (Wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Akshar Patel, Mo. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Navdeep Saini.

Leave a Reply