Earthquake: 3.8 magnitude earthquake occurred in Katra, Jammu, know why the earth shakes again and again?

tajikistan earthquake

Earthquake: There is big news from Jammu and Kashmir. An earthquake hit Katra in the state on Monday night. Its intensity on the Richter scale was 3.8. This information was given by the National Center for Seismology. According to information, earthquake tremors were felt in Katra, Jammu and Kashmir at 10:07 pm. People got scared by this. came out of the houses. Although there is no information about any loss of life.

Earlier on July 10, there was an earthquake of 4.9 magnitude in Jammu and Kashmir. Earthquake tremors were felt in Doda district at around 5.30 am.

Know why earthquakes occur?

According to the National Center for Seismology (NCS), there are 7 platelets inside the earth. These platelets keep rotating continuously. The place where platelets collide is called a fault line. This collision causes the corners of these platelets to bend. Apart from this, due to high pressure, these platelets also start breaking. The energy generated due to the breakdown of platelets starts coming out. Earthquake occurs due to the tension created due to this reason.

Mild tremors before earthquake in 72 percent

According to a report by Los Alamos National Laboratory in the US, some similar mild tremors were felt before the 4.0 magnitude tremors in California last year. Tremors greater than 4.0 were felt in Southern California in 2008 and 2017. 72 percent of these times, mild tremors were felt before these earthquakes.

India is divided into five zones

India is divided into five seismic zones. Zone 5 is the most dangerous. An earthquake of magnitude 9 on the Richter scale can occur in this area. Zone-5 includes the whole of Northeast India, parts of Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, the Rann of Kutch in Uttarakhand Gujarat, parts of North Bihar and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Earthquakes frequently occur in this region. Zone-4 includes Jammu and Kashmir and rest of Himachal Pradesh, Delhi, Sikkim, northern parts of Uttar Pradesh, Indo-Gangetic basin, parts of Bihar and West Bengal, Gujarat and parts of Maharashtra along the west coast and Rajasthan Is.

Less danger in these zones

Zone-3 includes Kerala, Goa, Lakshadweep Islands, rest of Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and West Bengal, parts of Punjab, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka. Zone-2 is the least active region in terms of earthquakes. It has been kept in the category of least disaster prone area. Zone-1 includes the rest of the country.

Read also: These are not pieces of art, they are Indian heritage, US fulfilled its promise to PM Modi, returned 105 sculptures and artifacts

Leave a Reply