Ashes 2023: The controversy that began after Cameron Green was caught by Shubman Gill in the World Test Championship final between India and Australia has reached the Ashes. In the Test being played at Lord’s between England and Australia, Mitchell Starc caught a similar catch in which the ball later touched the ground. However, this time the third umpire took the side of the batsman and called the catch wrong. This has become a topic of discussion everywhere and now the ICC has also given its stand regarding this.
Mitchell Starc caught the best catch while running
In fact, on the fourth day of the second match of the five-match Test series being played at Lord’s, Cameron Green was the bowler for the Australian team in the second last over. The batsman was Ben Duckett, who scored a half-century. When Green bowled a short ball, he played a ramp shot, but the ball went to the left of Mitchell Starc standing at fine leg. Starc reached the ball running and caught it, however after that he hit the slide on the ground in which some part of the ball touched the ground as well.
Umpire favors batsman
While the Australian players were celebrating after catching the catch, Ben Duckett wanted a cross check from the third umpire. After which the decision went to the third umpire. The umpire found that Mitchell Starc had taken the catch, but was not in control when the ball made contact with the ground, as he was sliding. In such a situation, he did not consider the catch as correct and Ben Duckett was declared not out. After this there was a ruckus on this decision.
Well then…– Advertisement –
What do we think of this one? 👀
— England Cricket (@englandcricket) July 1, 2023
Why was Ben Duckett given not out contract?
Controversy arose after Ben Duckett was declared not out and many questioned the third umpire’s decision. Meanwhile, the ICC has issued an explanation regarding this and according to the rules of cricket, this decision has been justified.
Clause 33.3 of the MCC Laws of Cricket states that “the act of taking a catch shall commence from the time the ball first comes into contact with a fielder and shall end when a fielder has regained complete balance on the ball and its movement”. does it.’
In this case, third umpire Marais Erasmus, reviewing the catch, held that Starc was not in control of his movement when the ball hit the turf. The MCC reaffirmed this on Twitter, writing that “Law 33.3 clearly Says that a catch is complete when the fielder has ‘complete control of the ball and its speed’. The ball cannot touch the ground before that. In this particular incident, Mitchell Starc, was still slipping as the ball was rubbing the ground, so he was not in control of his pace.” In such a situation, this catch was not termed as Vedya.
In relation to the below incident, Law 33.3 clearly states that a catch is only completed when the fielder has “complete control over the ball and his/her own movement.”
— Marylebone Cricket Club (@MCCOfficial) July 1, 2023
Australia in strong position
Today is the last day of the second Ashes Test between England and Australia at Lord’s. At the moment, Australia has kept hold in the match and is very close to victory. Where Australia need 6 wickets to win on the last day of the match, it is a difficult time for England. He has to score 257 runs to win and it is necessary to bat the full 90 overs to draw the match.